top of page

A little bit about me as a writer

Hello, I'm Lindsey Brennan, writer. Short story writer. Poetry writer. Aspiring novella to novel length writer. Basically, just a writer. I have so many ideas in my head it's hard to put them down on paper and even harder to hammer them out into coherent words that I can share with others.


What runs around in my head are sensual thoughts about many different things. I like the erotic, the wanton, the cravings for darker desires fulfilled. I'm wild and twisted in my mind and quite calm and proper outside my mind. I'm a surprise wrapped in perfect camouflage. Only be reading my words will you have access to what pulses below the surface. I like it that way, very much so.


I'm also very attracted to knowledge, wisdom, intellect. They are my aphrodisiacs and make me want to more closely engage with someone deeper, more intimately. I have to click with someone like that before the rest of me follows. That's also how I try to write my characters so they have something more than 'insta-love" or "insta-lust" like many writers use. I also avoid creating "alphaholes" as male protagonists. I don't like assholes alphas mixing with my strong female protagonists. They just don't turn me on or attract more from me than scorn.


As well, I often write about characters who are quite broken because of what they experienced in their pasts and quite often have a mental health diagnosis if not a physical health diagnosis as they are just as valid people who deserve to find love. None of this is just for fun aspects of my characters. They have these parts to them because I have my own mental health diagnosis. I am a person first and foremost, just as my characters are. We all deserve to find love and be loved in return. My desire is to reduce the stigmatization of people like myself for having a medical condition that many may not understand and thus fear.


I'll also share that bit about myself. I have a diagnosis of bipolar I with mixed features, complex PTSD, general anxiety disorder, major depressive disorder, and perhaps a partridge in a pear tree too. I try to keep the thoughts about my diagnosis light hearted because the alternative is to cry about them. I cannot cure them, but I can manage them with the use of medication, counseling, the use of coping skills, and having a good social support network.


I put my lived experiences in my work because they tell truths that other writers may not be able to do because they've never lived like I have. I give authentic glimpses into my world and show that people like myself can be productive members of society as full people.


That's a basic overview of me as a writer and a person. Feel free to ask me what you like about my work and myself. I'll answer questions in an upcoming blog post so that I can share the information to all readers of my blog.


Confidence and intelligence will never stop being beautiful.
Words I try to live by...


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page